LAST UPDATED ON 2021-02-16 18:11:17

2020-21 IVC Girls Basketball Selections: Hiland, TCC nab Player of the Year, Coach of the Year awards

By Mitch Spinell

Ohio - The 2020-21 high school girls' basketball season was a good one for the Hiland Hawks and the Tuscarawas Central Catholic Saints.

Both teams won their respective Inter-Valley Conference divisions, with Hiland going an undefeated 12-0 in conference play, 21-1 overall; meanwhile, the Saints won the IVC North with a 9-1 conference record (12-1 overall), giving them their second IVC title in school history and their first since 1992.

Both also had the Players and Coaches of the Year within their respective divisions, with Zoe Miller (POTY) and Dave Schlabach winning for Hiland (COTY), and Sophia Knight (POTY) and Greg Triplett (COTY) winning for Central.

Hiland also had the most All-IVC players on the first-team (three) and overall (six), while T.C.C. boasted four overall. East Canton (four), Tuscarawas Valley (four), Malvern (three), and Sandy Valley (three) also took multiple spots on the all-conference roster.

The following players were selected to the IVC North and South teams on Tuesday:


IVC NORTH, First Team

Brooke Baird , Sr., Buckeye Trail

Emily Siedel, Sr., Conotton Valley

Bella Kline, Sr., East Canton

Maddie Powers, So., Malvern

Lanie Bower, Jr., Malvern

Emma Gilkerson, Jr., Strasburg

Sophia Knight, Sr., Tuscarawas Central Catholic


IVC SOUTH, First Team

Bailey Eddleman, So., Claymont

Zoe Miller, Sr., Hiland

Morgan Yoder, Sr., Hiland

Kyli Horn, Sr., Hiland

Abbey Parker, Jr., Sandy Valley

Arora Levengood , Sr., Tusky Valley

Ali Shane, Sr., Tusky Valley


IVC NORTH, Second Team

Abby Wayble, Jr., Buckeye Trail

Brey Buxton, Sr., East Canton

Tori Reichard, Jr., East Canton

Ashley Lahmers, Fr., Newcomerstown

Madi Becker, Jr., Strasburg

Sage DeBois-Winnie, Sr., Tuscarawas Central Catholic

Reese Triplett, So., Tuscarawas Central Catholic


IVC SOUTH, Second Team

Rylee Putt, So., Garaway

Kelsey Swihart, Sr., Hiland

Brynn Mullet , Sr., Hiland

Elena Baker, Sr., Indian Valley

Kelsie Stephens, Jr., Ridgewood

Alli Neary, Sr., Sandy Valley

Ashley Merrick, Jr., Tusky Valley


IVC NORTH, Honorable Mention

Kacey Hastings, Jr., Buckeye Trail

Masyn Baker, Fr., Conotton Valley          

Saylor Bachman, Sr., East Canton

Emma Dabo, Fr., Malvern

Taylor Lafferty, Sr., Newcomerstown

Maddy Edwards, Jr., Strasburg

Maddie Ferrell, So., Tuscarawas Central Catholic


IVC SOUTH, Honorable Mention

Madison Barber, Sr., Claymont

Lizzie Mullet, Sr., Garaway

Ashley Mullet, Fr., Hiland

Ashton Doak, Jr., Indian Valley

Kelley Masloski, So., Ridgewood

Lexi Tucci, Fr., Sandy Valley

Katie Burrier, Sr., Tuscarawas Valley