LAST UPDATED ON 2021-04-06 10:47:12

Harrison Central's Kobe Mitchell named Division III All-Ohio Player of the Year

By Mitch Spinell

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Harrison Central senior Kobe Mitchell was named the Division III Player of the Year as the Division III and IV All-Ohio boys basketball teams were announced Monday by the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association.

Mitchell, who was the East District Player of the Year in Division III, averaged 30.8 points, six rebounds, and five assists per game for the Huskies this past season.

Mitchell, who committed to the University of Akron back in November, finished as the No. 15 scorer in Ohio history and is fourth in Ohio Valley Athletic Conference history with 2,421 points.

Malvern's Johnny Browning was a First Team selection in Division IV, sharing the Division IV Player of the Year honors with fellow first-teamer, Shenandoah's Christian Duniver.

Browning, a 1,200-point scorer for his career, averaged 14.8 points, 8.8 rebounds, and 3.3 assists per game for Malvern during the regular season. 

In addition to Mitchell in Division III, Area Special Mention honorees were Tuscarawas Valley's Nathan Glaser, Ridgewood's Dalton Patterson, and Sandy Valley's Demetrius Evans.

Joining Browning on the Division IV were Hiland's Will Schlabach (Third Team), Strasburg's Tayshaun Curtis (Special Mention), Malvern's Michael Minor and Derk Hutchison, Hiland's Ryan Miller, and Tuscarawas Central Catholic's Zander Sabin (Honorable Mention).