The New Philadelphia City School District is honoring its Board of Education during the month of January.  Pictured from left to right are Dave Frantz (president), Jim Parrish, Jana Leeper, Denver Gallentine and Chris Weaver (vice president). (Submitted photo)

Tuscarawas County, Ohio - Area districts are taking some time to acknowledge the contributions school board members make to their communities, schools, and students.

January is School Board Recognition Month, and New Philadelphia City Schools and Buckeye Career Center will be celebrating with ceremonies honoring their elected decision makers.

New Philadelphia will be recognizing its school board members during the next Board of Education meeting on Monday, January 14th.

Superintendent David Brand praised the work of New Philadelphia's Board of Education members, Dave Frantz, Chris Weaver, Jim Parrish, Jana Leeper, and Denver Gallentine.

“Our board of education unselfishly contributes their time and talents toward the achievement of public education," Brand said. "They represent a continuing commitment to local citizen control and decision making in education and are dedicated individuals who are committed to the continuing success of our schools and students.” 

Buckeye Career Center will be honoring its elected officials with a light reception after their Board of Education meeting on Tuesday, January 15th. 

The board includes Steve Brode (Newcomerstown), Jim Gertz (East Holmes), Lee Bowdish (Conotton Valley), Cyndy Host (Claymont), Wes
Hostetler (Strasburg), Randy Longacher (Dover), Dick Marshall Marshall (Garaway), Jim Parrish (New Philadelphia), Dan Pesta (Carrollton), Francis Picchetti (Indian Valley), and Scott Tritt (TuscarawasValley). Each will be presented with a small gift made by BCC students as a token of the district's appreciation.

School Board Recognition Month honors the members of Ohio’s more than 700 city, exempted village, local and joint vocational boards of education and educational service centers governing boards for their commitment to providing quality public education to Ohio’s school children.

Loading Conversation